Energy

    SRDC Waste Gasification

    Pilot project between six municipalities in Southwest Manitoba.

    Read more

    Biomass: a source of renewable energy for the future

    It is becoming increasingly likely that biomass will become an important source of renewable energy in Canada and elsewhere in the world during the next few years and for the decades that will follow.

    Read more

    Île-des-Chênes innovates with district geothermal heating & cooling system

    In 2011, the Town of Île-des-Chênes in the RM of Ritchot just south of Winnipeg became one of the province’s first communities to truly ‘go green’ as it proudly opened its new LEED-certified Centre TransCanada Centre, complete with geothermal district heating and cooling system.

    The project began taking shape in 2008-09 after the community’s Vision Plan was completed, followed by a social and recreational needs survey which identified certain priorities for the town. Among these was a concern for the local arena’s aging ice plant, by then over 30 years old.

    Read more

Énergie

    (English)

    SRDC Waste Gasification

    Pilot project between six municipalities in Southwest Manitoba.

    En savoir plus

    Biomasse : source d’énergie renouvelable de demain

    Il est fort possible que la biomasse sera bientôt la source d’énergie qui va contribuer de plus en plus envers l’atteinte des objectifs en matière d’énergie renouvelable au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde au cours des années et décennies à venir.

    En savoir plus

    Île-des-Chênes innove avec son système de chauffage et de refroidissement géothermique.

    C’est avec une immense fierté qu’en 2011 le Village d’Île-des-Chênes dans la Municipalité rurale de Ritchot (située juste au sud-est de Winnipeg) est devenu une des toutes premières localités de la province à effectuer un véritable virage écologique en ouvrant officiellement son nouveau Centre TransCanada Centre certifié LEED, avec système centralisé de chauffage et de refroidissement géothermique.

    Le projet a pris son envol en 2008-09 suite à l’achèvement du Plan Vision de la communauté ainsi que d’un sondage quant aux besoins en matière de loisirs et d’installations sociales, y compris l’aréna municipal dont le système de fabrication de glace vieillissant à l’époque était âgé de plus de 30 ans.

    En savoir plus