Projects / Waste

Town of St. Paul ‘waste to value-added’ initiative

During the past few decades, it has become increasingly clear that waste to valued-added (or ‘waste-to-energy’) facilities must be looked at as being cornerstones of any efficient waste management system and a means to securing energy supplies for the future.

A waste to value-added facility has the potential of generating a range of outputs: electricity, district/local/regional heating, recovered ferrous materials, digestate (which can be used as fertilizer in the agricultural sector), etc. In this way, residual waste that cannot be recycled in an economically or environmentally beneficial way becomes a valuable source of energy as well as a potential source of revenue.

Each year, 285,000 tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) - approximately 25 percent of Metro Vancouver’s post-recycled waste - are converted into 940,000 tonnes of steam at the Covanta Burnaby waste-to-energy facility.

Each year, 285,000 tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) – approximately 25 percent of Metro Vancouver’s post-recycled waste – are converted into 940,000 tonnes of steam at the Covanta Burnaby waste-to-energy facility.

Moreover, feasibility studies are consistently beginning to demonstrate that most waste to value-added facilities will outperform alternative waste treatment processes in terms of their reduced carbon footprint and other mitigated impacts on the surrounding environment, as well as having the potential of being eligible for (in this case) Alberta GHG offset credits.

The St. Paul Region in northeastern Alberta is made up of six rural municipalities including the Town of St. Paul, Town of Bonnyville, Town of Cold Lake, Lac la Biche County, Town of Elk Point and County of St. Paul No. 19. The region generates approximately 50,000 tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) on an annual basis and currently has a total of eight small landfill sites.

In recent years, the collection of MSW and landfilling costs have escalated and currently the landfill tipping fees are at about $150/tonne. That is one of the main reasons why this region is now considering the development of a waste to value-added facility, which would lead to advantageous synergies between the various municipal partners as well as resulting in several positive financial and environmental outcomes.

The Town of St. Paul and its municipal partners are thus seeking to become regional, and provincial, leaders in the recovery of MSWs and transforming them into a form of renewable energy on the road to a landfill-free Alberta (the target date that has been set by the province for this goal is 2050).

The feasibility study being proposed by St. Paul and its regional partners for a waste to value-added facility will include the following components:

  • Understanding the quantity, ownership, and composition of the regional waste stream (waste characterization study);
  • Assessing current available technologies for an organics conversion facility based on anticipated conditions;
  • Examining a suitable governance model for the facility and the local uses of energy generated from the recovered wastes and
  • Conducting a pre-FEED study (Front End Engineering Study).

The expected outcome of the feasibility study will be the ability to make an informed decision as to whether or not to proceed with the financing and construction of a waste to value-added facility as outlined in the pre-FEED study.

The diagram bellow illustrates one possible configuration for a waste to value-added facility:

Untitled

As is indicated above, the technologies that could potentially be used to process the incoming waste stream as well as agricultural/forest biomass include: 1) waste separation; 2) biological treatment for wet organic waste, including food waste, yard waste and wet/soiled papers, and 3) thermal treatment for dry organic waste, including dry paper, plastics, waste wood and textiles.

The environmental outcomes and benefits expected to be derived from this initiative are:

  • Reduction of greenhouse gas emissions (GHGs);
  • Reduction of the communities’ carbon footprints;
  • Demonstration to other rural communities concerning the feasibility of working together towards a landfill-free Alberta;
  • Production of energy for municipal buildings and vehicle fleets;
  • Reduction of energy consumption by municipal buildings, and
  • Less fuel consumed and fewer kilometres travelled by vehicles for waste disposal purposes.

Applications for the funding of a feasibility study for this innovative waste to value-added project are at the present time being considered by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (Green Municipal Fund) as well as Alberta Innovates – Energy and Environment Solutions (AI-EES).

Projets / Déchets

Projet de réacheminement vers la production à valeur ajoutée (Ville de St. Paul, AB)

Au cours des quelques dernières décennies, il est devenu de plus en plus évident que le réacheminement des déchets vers des installations de production à valeur ajoutée (aussi connu sous l’appellation de ‘valorisation énergétique’) doit être perçu comme étant l’une des pierres angulaires de tout système de gestion des déchets ainsi qu’un moyen d’assurer des sources d’approvisionnement en énergie pour l’avenir.

Une installation de production à valeur ajoutée a le potentiel de générer toute une gamme d’extrants : électricité, chauffage centralisé/local/régional, métaux ferreux récupérés, digestat (que l’on peut ensuite utiliser en tant que fertilisant dans le secteur agricole), etc. Ainsi, les déchets résiduels qui ne peuvent être recyclés d’une manière avantageuse sur le plan économique ou environnemental deviennent une source d’énergie précieuse aussi bien que source potentielle de revenu.

Each year, 285,000 tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) - approximately 25 percent of Metro Vancouver’s post-recycled waste - are converted into 940,000 tonnes of steam at the Covanta Burnaby waste-to-energy facility.

Each year, 285,000 tonnes of municipal solid waste (MSW) – approximately 25 percent of Metro Vancouver’s post-recycled waste – are converted into 940,000 tonnes of steam at the Covanta Burnaby waste-to-energy facility.

À chaque année, 285 000 tonnes de déchets solides municipaux (DSM) – environ 25 pour cent des déchets recyclés du Grand Vancouver – sont transformés en 940 000 tonnes de vapeur à l’installation de valorisation énergétique de Covanta à Burnaby

Qui plus est, des études de faisabilité démontrent constamment que la plupart des installations de production à valeur ajoutée sont plus performantes que d’autres processus de gestion des déchets lorsqu’il s’agit de réduire l’empreinte carbone ainsi que d’atténuer les autres impacts sur l’environnement, en plus d’être éligibles aux crédits compensatoires des GES de l’Alberta.

La région de St. Paul dans le nord-est de l’Alberta inclut six municipalités rurales dont la Ville de Saint-Paul, Bonnyville, Cold Lake, Lac la Biche, Elk Point et le Comté de Saint-Paul No 19. La région génère environ 50 000 tonnes de déchets solides municipaux à chaque année et présentement l’on y retrouve huit petits sites d’enfouissement des déchets.

Récemment, la collecte des déchets solides municipaux et les coûts d’enfouissement de ceux-ci ont connu une hausse vertigineuse et à l’heure actuelle les frais de déversement aux sites d’enfouissement se situent à environ 150 $ pour chaque tonne. C’est là une des raisons principales pour laquelle cette région entrevoit le développement d’une installation de production à valeur ajoutée, ce qui aboutirait à des synergies avantageuses entre les partenaires municipaux ainsi qu’à des retombées financières et environnementales positives.

La Ville de Saint-Paul et ses partenaires municipaux veulent ainsi devenir des chefs de file régionaux ainsi qu’au niveau provincial en ce qui a trait à la récupération des déchets solides municipaux et la transformation de ceux-ci en une forme d’énergie renouvelable, avec l’objectif d’avoir une province qui ne compte aucun site d’enfouissement (la date cible a été fixée par la Province de l’Alberta à l’an 2050).

L’étude de faisabilité proposée par Saint-Paul et ses partenaires régionaux pour une installation de production à valeur ajoutée comprendra les composantes suivantes :

  • Compréhension de la quantité, propriété et composition du flux de déchets régionaux (étude de caractérisation des déchets/matières résiduelles;)
  • Évaluation des technologies disponibles à l’heure actuelle pour une installation telle que proposée par les partenaires;
  • Examen d’un modèle de gouvernance approprié pour l’installation ainsi que l’utilisation éventuelle de l’énergie générée à partir des matières récupérées et
  • Une étude pré-FEED (‘Front End Engineering Study’ – activités d’ingénierie et de conception préliminaires).

Le résultat attendu de l’étude de faisabilité sera la capacité de prendre une décision éclairée à savoir si l’on devrait procéder ou non avec le financement et la construction d’une installation de production à valeur ajoutée.

Le diagramme qui suit illustre une des configurations possibles d’une installation de production à valeur ajoutée :

Untitled

Tel qu’indiqué plus haut, les technologies qui pourraient entrer en jeu afin de traiter les intrants à l’installation, y compris la biomasse agricole et forestière, sont les suivantes : 1) séparation des déchets; 2) traitement biologique pour les déchets organiques humides, et 3) traitement thermique pour les déchets organiques secs, y compris le papier sec, les matières plastiques, les déchets de bois ainsi que les textiles.

Les résultats et avantages attendus de cette initiative sur le plan environnemental sont :

  • Une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES);
  • Une réduction de l’empreinte carbone des communautés impliquées;
  • Démonstration à d’autres communautés rurales de la possibilité de travailler ensemble vers la création d’une province sans sites d’enfouissement;
  • Production d’énergie pour les édifices et parcs de véhicules municipaux;
  • Une réduction du niveau d’énergie utilisé par les édifices municipaux et
  • Une réduction de la consommation de carburant et moins de kilomètres parcourus par les véhicules afin de déverser les déchets.