Contact us

200-614 rue Des Meurons

Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Canada R2H 2P9

 

phone: 204-925-8823

toll-free: 1-800-990-2332

email: info@eco-ouest.com


Team

member

Dany Robidoux

Director, Eco-West

Tel.: 204-797-7328

Dany Robidoux

As Director of Eco-West, Dany Robidoux works with businesses, community-based organizations and all three levels of government to create action plans aimed at building widespread commitment towards sustainable development in rural municipalities across Canada.

Since 2008, Dany has played a key role in the conducting of GHG emissions inventories, as well as the development of cogeneration (CHP) and composting/recycling initiatives, the sustainable disposal of municipal solid waste (MSW) using ‘waste to value-added’ technologies, wastewater treatment as well as biomass heating and transportation projects.

Beginning in the spring of 2014, Dany and members of his team have been travelling across Western Canada, recruiting municipalities that have expressed an interest in joining the Partners for Climate Protection (PCP) program of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM). Over 30 Manitoba communities have already joined the PCP program, having since found a great deal of success in their sustainability endeavours.

Dany currently resides in Winnipeg, MB, and holds both a B.A. and B. Comm. (Hons.) from the University of Manitoba. He is a board member of the Manitoba Association of Regional Recyclers (MARR), as well as the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Environmental Leadership Council.

Dany is also a Climate Leader with the Climate Reality Project Canada. He was personally trained by former U.S. President and Nobel Laureate Al Gore on ways to educate the public about the science and impacts of climate change as well as solutions to address global climate crisis issues.

member

Joëlle Saltel

Director of Municipal Relations

Tel.: 204-806-0956

Joëlle Saltel

In her current role as Director of Municipal Relations at Eco-West, Joëlle has assisted in the development of various green projects throughout rural Manitoba and across Western Canada. Through Eco-West, she has likewise played an instrumental role in the implementation of a green economy infrastructure. This is accomplished through the creation of Climate Change Local Action & Adaptation Plans (CCLAAPs), as well as supporting municipalities that are seeking opportunities to bring green technologies to the marketplace.

In her work, Joëlle advocates an approach based on an innovative CCLAAP concept that integrates various components – GHG emissions inventory, climate profile, synergies between various municipalities – into a single planning process. This type of linear progression responds to a wider range of needs than individual studies; the integration of these components is unique in Manitoba, and has resulted in a new and more advanced method of municipal planning as it relates to the creation of more sustainable communities.

After various past professional experiences that include working at the CBC and in a communications capacity in all three levels of government, Joëlle has the ability to simultaneously manage multiple projects while focusing on the production of high quality, specialized documentation, and has maintained lasting relationships with government and elected officials.

Joëlle completed her Master’s degree in political science at the University of Manitoba and has since then acquired over ten years of relevant experience in high-level communications, and is also a government relations specialist. Highly interested in the culture and politics at the local, national and international levels, Joëlle is an experienced group leader, a proven independent worker with strong abilities in planning, coordination and management. Joëlle currently resides in St. Boniface, Manitoba and remains active in the political, cultural and francophone communities.

member

Gavin van der Linde

Project Manager

Tel.: 204-209-0090

Gavin van der Linde

Gavin joined the Eco-West team in 2015 as a project manager. He is responsible for building and managing relationships with rural municipalities, many of which are located in southern Manitoba as well as in the other western provinces. His current projects include a regional transportation initiative, several waste diversion projects that focus on recycling and composting services, as well as waste to value-added projects in the areas of biomass and waste gasification for the production of reusable energy.

As project manager, Gavin focuses on helping municipalities in developing and implementing green projects that not only demonstrate excellent potential as sustainable initiatives, but also economic viability for the various municipal partners. As such, finding municipal solutions and matching funding opportunities are likewise an important aspect of Gavin’s activities at Eco-West.

Gavin also brings over 10 years of municipal experience to the Eco-West team. His understanding of municipal budgets, planning and project implementation has proved to be a valuable resource for the municipalities with which he is engaged. He is currently mayor of the Town of Morris, vice-chair of the board of directors of Community Futures Manitoba, and is also a director on the board of the Association of Manitoba Municipalities.

Gavin holds a diploma in financial management (Damelin College, South Africa) and is now working to obtain his certification in project management at Red River Community College.

member

Dan Powell

Chief Analyst

Tel.: 204-925-8388

Dan Powell

As Chief Analyst for green projects at CDEM/Eco-West, Dan Powell is responsible for looking after the energy consumption and waste generation data collected for all greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions inventories to be included in the CCLAAPs (climate change local action & adaptation plans), as well as data supporting various other green economy/infrastructure projects.

Dan has been working at CDEM (Economic Development Council for Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities) in green projects since 2011, where he initially started out in the capacity of Priority Projects Agent before taking on his current position as chief analyst. Previous to the CDEM, Dan worked as a research associate for several years at the Institute for Urban Studies, a think-tank based out of the University of Winnipeg. While at the institute, he provided data support for reports on neighbourhood quality, transportation issues for seniors, as well as housing quality and community health indexes.

Dan has thus acquired an extensive background in data collection, including the conducting of more than 30 GHG emissions inventories since his arrival at CDEM/Eco-West, the results of which have all been verified by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities to ensure that they conform to the standards of the FCM’s Partners for Climate Protection (PCP) program.

Dan holds a Diploma in Computer Systems Technology – Applied Artificial Intelligence – from the British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), a B.A. (Hons.) in economics from the University of Manitoba, and he also studied in the Masters in Urban Planning program at McGill University in Montreal from 2006 to 2008.

member

Michel Forest

Technical Writer

Tel.: 204-806-4035

Michel Forest

Michel has been working as a technical writer at Eco-West since the spring of 2015, where he is responsible for the writing and editing of technical documentation, general research, as well as sourcing and completing project funding applications (feasibility studies and pilot/capital projects). He also assists the director, project managers and other team members in their drive towards the successful completion of the organization’s innovative green initiatives.

Michel has over 20 years of communications and information design experience in both the private and public sectors. He began his career as a bilingual communications and marketing director for various community-based organizations in St. Boniface, MB, and his work there included the researching and writing of technical communications briefs for presentation at Canadian Radio and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) hearings.

Since that time, Michel has filled a number of communications-related positions, most notably as a technical writer and translator in Miami, Florida, working with, among others, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Industry Canada to ensure compliance of content, design materials and goods with international import & export packaging regulations (U.S.A./Canada). Prior to joining the Eco-West team, Michel completed a three-year stint as a multimedia journalist in Manitoba’s Interlake region, where he wrote extensively on conservation topics, including several series of articles on Lake Winnipeg environmental issues, municipal politics and infrastructure, etc.

Michel holds a B.A., Advanced degree from St. Paul’s College (University of Manitoba), studied in the MBA program at École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) in Montreal, and is a certified technical writer (Rochester Institute of Technology – RIT). He is currently enrolled in the sustainability issues stream of the University of Winnipeg’s Department of Environmental Studies & Sciences (DESS).

Contactez nous

200-614 rue Des Meurons

Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Canada R2H 2P9

 

tél.: 204-925-8823

sans frais: 1-800-990-2332

courriel: info@eco-ouest.com


Équipe

member

Dany Robidoux

Directeur, Éco-Ouest

Tél.: 204-797-7328

Dany Robidoux

Dans son rôle de directeur d’Éco-Ouest, Dany Robidoux collabore avec des entreprises, des organisations communautaires ainsi que les trois paliers de gouvernement afin de créer des plans d’action locaux et régionaux dont l’objectif principal est de susciter un engagement généralisé à l’endroit du développement durable au sein des municipalités rurales du Canada.

Depuis 2008, Dany a joué un rôle clé quant à la création d’inventaires des émissions des gaz à effet de serre (GES), ainsi que le développement et la mise en oeuvre de projets dans les secteurs de l’énergie, la gestion des déchets – notamment le réacheminent de ceux-ci vers la production à valeur ajoutée – et des eaux usées, le réaménagement des terrains contaminés, la biomasse et le transport, entre autres.

Au cours des quelques dernières années, Dany et les membres de son équipe ont sillonné les quatre provinces de l’Ouest canadien afin de recruter des municipalités rurales au programme Partenaires dans la protection du climat (PPC) de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM).

Dany est également un ‘Ambassadeur du climat’ de l’organisation Réalité Climatique Canada. Il a reçu une formation personnelle de la part de l’ancien vice-président américain et colauréat du Prix Nobel de la Paix, Monsieur Al Gore, afin d’éduquer le public sur la science et les impacts des changements climatiques, ainsi que sur les solutions qui permettent d’atténuer les effets de ceux-ci.

Dany habite présentement à Winnipeg au Manitoba avec son épouse et sa fille. Il détient un Bac ès Art ainsi qu’un B. Com. avec distinction de l’Université du Manitoba, et siège sur le conseil de la Manitoba Association of Regional Recyclers (MARR) ainsi que le Conseil du leadership environnemental de la Chambre de commerce de Winnipeg.

member

Joëlle Saltel

Directrice des relations municipales

Tél.: 204-806-0956

Joëlle Saltel

À titre de directrice des relations municpales chez Éco-Ouest, Joëlle participe à l’élaboration de plusieurs projets verts au sein des régions rurales du Manitoba ainsi que les autres provinces de l’Ouest canadien. Plus généralement, elle a contribué à la mise en place d’une infrastructure durable à l’aide de la création de plans d’action sur le changement climatique (PALCCs), tout en appuyant les municipalités qui souhaitent pouvoir effectuer la commercialisation de technologies vertes.

Dans son travail avec les municipalités, Joëlle préconise un approche qui est basée sur le concept d’un plan d’action local axé sur l’intégration de divers éléments constitutifs – inventaires de gaz à effet de serre (GES), profils climatiques, synergies entre municipalités – en un processus global de planification. Ce genre de progression intégrée répond à un plus large éventail de besoins que des études individuelles. L’intégration de tous ces aspects est unique au Manitoba, et le résultat de tout cela a été une méthode de planification municipale plus innovante, permettant à son tour la création d’un plus grand nombre de communautés durables.

Misant sur ses expériences professionnelles du passé, y compris un séjour à Radio-Canada ainsi qu’au sein des trois paliers de gouvernement, Joëlle possède la capacité de gérer plusieurs projets simultanément tout en se concentrant sur la création d’une documentation hautement spécialisée. Elle a continué d’entretenir d’étroites relations avec des représentants ainsi que des élus du gouvernement.

Joëlle a complété une maîtrise en sciences politiques à l’Université du Manitoba et depuis lors a acquis une expérience de plus de dix ans à titre de spécialiste en communications et relations gouvernementales. Elle vit présentement à Saint-Boniface au Manitoba, où elle participe activement à la vie politique et culturelle de la communauté francophone locale, ainsi que de la société en général.

member

Gavin van der Linde

Gestionnaire de projets

Tél.: 204-209-0090

Gavin van der Linde

Gavin s’est joint à l’équipe d’Éco-Ouest à titre de gestionnaire de projets en 2015. Il est également responsable des relations avec les municipalités rurales, dont plusieurs sont situées dans la partie sud du Manitoba ainsi qu’ailleurs à travers les provinces de l’Ouest canadien. Parmi ses projets en cours, l’on retrouve une initiative de transport régional, plusieurs projets de réacheminement des déchets axés sur le recyclage et le compostage, ainsi que des efforts régionaux dans le domaine de la valeur ajoutée basé, notamment la biomasse et la gazéification des déchets afin de produire de l’énergie renouvelable.

Son rôle de gestionnaire de projets fournit à Gavin l’opportunité d’aider aux municipalités à élaborer et mettre en œuvre des projets verts qui démontrent non seulement un excellent potentiel en tant qu’initiative durable, mais aussi bien sur le plan de la viabilité économique pour les divers partenaires municipaux. Cela inclut également trouver des solutions aux enjeux locaux ainsi que des nouvelles possibilités de financement de contrepartie afin de procéder à la mise en œuvre des diverses initiatives d’Éco-Ouest.

Gavin possède également une expérience de dix années en administration municipale. Sa compréhension du processus budgétaire, la planification et la mise en œuvre de projets à l’échelle municipale sont des atouts précieux pour les municipalités avec lesquelles il collabore ainsi que pour Éco-Ouest. Il occupe actuellement le poste de maire de la ville de Morris, la vice-présidence du conseil d’administration de Community Futures Manitoba, et est également un des directeurs de l’AMM (Association of Manitoba Municipalities).

Gavin est titulaire d’un diplôme en gestion financière (Damelin College, Afrique du sud) et il étudie présentement dans le programme de gestion de projets du Red River Community College.

member

Dan Powell

Analyste en chef

Tél.: 204-925-8388

Dan Powell

Analyste en chef des projets verts à CDEM/Éco-Ouest, Dan Powell est responsable de la collecte des données en ce qui a trait à la consommation d’énergie et la production de déchets afin de créer des inventaires des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES), qui permettent à leur l’élaboration de plans d’action locaux sur le changement climatique (PALCCs). Il s’occupe également des données qui alimentent la réflexion sur les divers projets et initiatives en matière d’économie et infrastructure vertes.

Dan a commencé à travailler sur des projets verts au CDEM (Conseil du développement économique des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba) en 2011. Avant de se joindre au CDEM, pendant plusieurs années il a occupé le poste d’associé de recherche à l’Institute for Urban Studies à l’Université de Winnipeg, effectuant la collecte de données pour l’élaboration de rapports sur la qualité des quartiers, les questions de transport pour personnes âgées, la qualité des logements ainsi que les indices de santé communautaire.

Dan a ainsi acquis une vaste expérience dans la collecte des données, y compris avoir déjà dirigé la création de plus de 30 inventaires des émissions de GES depuis son arrivée à CDEM/Éco-Ouest. Les résultats de ces inventaires ont fait l’objet d’une vérification par la Fédération canadiennes des municipalités afin d’en assurer la conformité aux normes du programme Partenaires dans la protection du climat (PPC) de la FCM.

Dan est titulaire d’un diplôme en technologie des systèmes informatiques – intelligence artificielle appliquée- du British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), un B.A. avec distinction en sciences économiques de l’Université du Manitoba, et a également étudié dans le programme de maîtrise en planification urbaine de l’Université McGill à Montréal, de 2006 à 2008.

member

Michel Forest

Rédacteur technique

Tél.: 204-806-4035

Michel Forest

Michel s’est joint à l’équipe d’Éco-Ouest à titre de rédacteur technique en 2015, et il est responsable de la rédaction et révision de la documentation technique, recherche générale, les demandes de financement (études de faisabilité et projets pilotes/projets d’immobilisations), ainsi que d’appuyer le directeur, les gestionnaires de projets et tout autre membre de l’équipe dans leur progression vers la réussite des initiatives durables et novatrices de l’organisation.

Michel possède une expérience de plus de 20 ans dans les domaines de la communication et du design de l’information, et ce au sein des secteurs privé et public. Il a entamé sa carrière en tant que directeur du marketing et des communications avec des organisations communautaires à Saint-Boniface, MB, et son travail à l’époque comportait de la recherche ainsi que la rédaction de mémoires techniques en matière de communications pour présentation lors des audiences publiques du CRTC à Ottawa.

Depuis lors, Michel a comblé plusieurs postes dans le domaine des communications, notamment en tant que rédacteur et traducteur technique à Miami en Floride, collaborant étroitement, entre autres, avec l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) et Industrie Canada afin d’assurer la conformité du contenu, design des matériaux ainsi que des marchandises avec la réglementation internationale en matière d’importation et d’exportation (États-Unis/Canada). Avant de se joindre à Éco-Ouest, Michel a complété un séjour de trois ans à titre de journaliste multimédias dans la région manitobaine d’Entre-les-lacs où il a beaucoup écrit sur la conservation de l’environnement, y compris plusieurs articles au sujet du lac Winnipeg, la politique municipale, la diversité culturelle, etc.

Michel est titulaire d’un B.A. spécialisé de St. Paul’s College (Université du Manitoba), a étudié dans le programme MBA de l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) à Montréal, et est également un rédacteur technique certifié (Rochester Institute of Technology – RIT). Il est présentement inscrit au programme des enjeux de durabilité du Département des études et sciences environnementales (DESS) de l’Université de Winnipeg.